Audio Technica ATH M50 VS Beyerdynamic DT880, also Impedance Questions

xiris

Resident Canadian
VIP Junglist
Hello Everyone,

I've been browsing through the forums for a bit, and I have caught a recurring trend of people being recommended either the M50s or 880s as a quality entry headphone. I looked up some more reviews this morning.. but really can't find enough information (other than a bunch of people praising both sets) to make a definitive decision.

I've noticed that the M50s have an impedance of 38 ohms vs the 880s having 3 options, 32, 250 & 600ohms. Also noted that most people recommend the 600ohms 880's vs. the 250 or 32ohms.

Which headphones would you recommend of the two?
Would I need an external amp to run either of these headphones properly?
And what advantages/disadvantages are there to the 600ohms vs 32ohms?

Both are excellent headphones, I purchased a pair of 880's just the other day based on their rep. I'm no expert, but I believe that higher Ohms equals less harmonic distortion, but require a headphone amp to provide enough power for optimal output. Lower ohms don't require as much power but can produce more harmonic distortion. Whether or not you'll be able to hear the affects of said harmonic distortion will be up to your ears to decide.

I played it safe and bought the 250 Ohm version which can be powered nicely with my Duet 2. I haven't personally auditioned the higher ohm versions so I can't speak personally about the difference in audio quality.

Also, look into headphone burn-in. I'm currently burning mine and have been able to tell a significant difference throughout the process.

Cheers.

I've owned both and can tell you the DT880 Pro's win hands down.

More comfortable, less fatiguing, better build quality, for me, the list is endless.

Thank you both for the quick replies.

Binary, do I need a headphone amp to realize the proper potential of either of these headphones?

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk