Need Advice on audio interfaces

Sinn-R

Hi,
I have a few questions:
1) Is it really necessary to have an audio interface
2) What is a good audio interface that's not too expensive
3) I don't suppose my audio 6 will do, or will it?
cheers

uhh my advice, if your serious about production and can see yourself really getting into, plus wanna get the best out your speakers then, buy one :P

i'm using the mackie onyx 820i

i used an m-audio one, around £100 for my first interface, it was ok and did the job.

although i like the 820 as it acts as a mixer as well as a interface.

happy huntingggg

im a newbie to production, but learning, i bought a audio interface, for my monitors and its definitely been a good buy. Got a roland cakewalk ua-25ex and seems good enough for a home set up, tho seen alot of good comments about the focusrite sapphire 6, both around 150 pounds

I've just got myself a new interface, a focusrite saffire pro 14. It's a nice bit of kit and not all that expensive. EZ to set up and has decent sound and build quality.

Sorry if this is a really silly question. I have been producing a while now, under a year still though! But, what does an audio interface do and how would I benefit from one?

Sorry to intrude Sinn-R but I thought I may as well ask in this topic rather than create a whole new one!

---------- Post added at 23:39 ---------- Previous post was at 23:39 ----------

Sorry if this is a really silly question. I have been producing a while now, under a year still though! But, what does an audio interface do and how would I benefit from one?

Sorry to intrude Sinn-R but I thought I may as well ask in this topic rather than create a whole new one!

parsons,