a complete noobalicious production question from a production noob

Joey AdhD

sweaty scouser
VIP Junglist
right i have ableton and i am trying to get my head round actually creating a suitable drum and bass break, i really don't understand the structure of it, wether i should be in 1/16 or 1/8, i have it set to around 175 bpm, but it still sound fucking well slow?

plus avery one i try and make on the loop jus doesn't even sound like dnb, do you have to put drums between beats or what? its starting to get on my tits, i know its simple, i am looking for tutorials and stuff but it'd all over my head, i jus really want to know, in simple terms were to start with a dnb break ,the structure of it, i am brand new to this game, and simple is perfect, do you work to 8 beats and what not?

even if u know of a video that can explain it to me i would be thankful.

i have watched all the tutorial vids and i have made a few things techno and house wise, but i want to be creating deb but i have failed at the first hurdle and i don't think its really right to use a loop i have in packs n stuff, would rather nail it myself

i am using the impulse drum machine.

cheers in advance.

the speed comes from the HiHats, Snare rolls and percussion shuffles, a quick way to speed things up is to layer in some Tamb hits, following your 1/8 hi-hat hits, do little 1/16th hi-hat and tamb shuffles to keep things moving

see heres another problem, i don't fully understand what 1/8 and 1/16 is either, i am researching this now,

---------- Post added at 19:37 ---------- Previous post was at 19:30 ----------

i am trying my damnedest to get this sounding right i have all day but at 180 bpm it just sounds like fucking breakbeat.

---------- Post added at 19:39 ---------- Previous post was at 19:37 ----------

i am onto the beat separation, surely jus putin a drum on every beat doesn't work, does it? u have to place drum in-between? fuck i am shit at this.