Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Drum & Bass Forum
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hull, UK
    Posts
    957
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 63 Times in 57 Posts

    Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    Ok so i just got Komplete 7 and trying to make some sick basslines in Massive, but the only way i can get any sounds out of it is by selecting a preset then playing my midi keyboard because i dont see any 'play' button or anything in Massive?

    So is everyone using midi keyboards to make stuff with massive, or is there something im missing here?

    (sorry if this question sounds stupid btw, im a production noob)

    cheers


  2. #2
    Flappin' TongueFlap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,840
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    you can use the keyboard to play notes (the thing you type on) in most DAWS

  3. #3
    Drum & Bass Forum
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Age
    43
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    Not a t all man... I couldn't play a keyboard to save my life. I make all my basslines in the piano roll of my DAW, and then adjust the notes to taste.

  4. #4
    Drum & Bass Forum
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hull, UK
    Posts
    957
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 63 Times in 57 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    yeah thats kinda what i meant, a midi keyboard or the piano roll

    some of these basslines i hear sound like they have been written in a sequencer rather than played in

    is there a sequencer in massive?

  5. #5
    Lets get freeeeeeky Freek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    3,068
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    Hi mate, i think i know what u mean. it sounds like you are using the standalone app of massive. if this is the case then there is no built in sequencer as far as im aware.

    if u were to open the massive vst in your DAW such as ableton, cubase, logic etc you will be able to use your DAWS midi sequencer to control massive

  6. #6
    aka Zero Beats JamesZero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South London
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,909
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    I havent tried it...

    but here is a virtual midi keyboard. If your using Massive as a stand alone app, then you might be able to play the sounds on this

    (It says it's freeware)

    http://www.granucon.com/vmk.html


  7. #7
    Drum & Bass Forum
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hull, UK
    Posts
    957
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 63 Times in 57 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    Quote Originally Posted by Freek View Post
    Hi mate, i think i know what u mean. it sounds like you are using the standalone app of massive. if this is the case then there is no built in sequencer as far as im aware.

    if u were to open the massive vst in your DAW such as ableton, cubase, logic etc you will be able to use your DAWS midi sequencer to control massive
    Nice one mate, this makes a bit more sense

    not sure why you can open it as a standalone tho if you cant get sounds from it on its own?

  8. #8
    Drum & Bass Forum
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    i couldnt get that virtual midi keyboard to work. i really wanna use massive on my train joruney on the laptop but sequencing is a pain in the ass and theres no way i can have a midi keyboard on the train lol. did try using my iphone as a midi keyboard but that was also impractical

    wish there was a funtion like the one in garage band that lets you use your keyboard as a midi keyboard

  9. #9
    Polysonic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    Quote Originally Posted by Arfeds View Post
    i couldnt get that virtual midi keyboard to work. i really wanna use massive on my train joruney on the laptop but sequencing is a pain in the ass and theres no way i can have a midi keyboard on the train lol. did try using my iphone as a midi keyboard but that was also impractical

    wish there was a funtion like the one in garage band that lets you use your keyboard as a midi keyboard
    it was stated above that you can do so if you use the Massive VST in your DAW.

  10. #10
    Drum & Bass Forum
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    180
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    no i meant like this

    http://garageband.maccreate.com/2010...in-garageband/

    using your daw to physically use your mouse to hit individual keys on the screen is a pain in the ass

  11. #11
    Polysonic
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do you have to use a midi keyboard to make sounds in Massive?

    i know what you meant. In FL Studio, Z through "/" are the white keys and A through (apostrophe) are the black keys.

    Granted, in FL, its not as pretty or in depth. Just simple key strokes. and you can play different octaves if you change the root note.

Similar Threads

  1. MIDI Keyboard
    By DJVendetta in forum Production
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 15-02-2011, 02:29
  2. 25 vs 49 Key Midi Keyboard
    By glmtc in forum Production
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-12-2009, 11:14
  3. looking for a mini midi keyboard
    By richie_stix in forum Production
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-10-2009, 13:54
  4. midi keyboard
    By technic1210 in forum Production
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 23:23
  5. midi keyboard
    By technic1210 in forum Production
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-09-2008, 12:55

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •